CSES Missions

CSES (China Seismo-Electromagnetic Satellite) scientific space missionsare dedicated: to monitoring electromagnetic field and waves, plasma and particles perturbations of the atmosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere induced by natural sources and anthropocentric emitters; and to study their correlations with the occurrence of seismic events. More in general, they investigate the structure and the dynamic of the topside ionosphere, the coupling mechanisms with the lower and higher plasma layers and the temporal variations of the geomagnetic field, in quiet and disturbed conditions. Data collected by the missions also allow studying solar-terrestrial interactions and phenomena of solar physics, namely Coronal Mass Ejections (CMEs), solar flares and cosmic ray solar modulation. The data will contribute to provide an observational sharing service for international cooperation and the scientific community.

The program foresees several satellites to be sequentially launched. Currently, CSES-01 satellite is in orbit since February 2nd, 2018 equipped with nine instruments, among them the Italian High Energy Particle Detector (HEPD). Expected lifetime is 5 years.

CSES-02 satellite in advanced implementation stage equipped with ten instruments: among them the Italian High Energy Particle Detector (HEPD) and Electric Field Detector (EFD). The launch is scheduled by the 2022. Expected lifetime is 6 years.

CSES missions are part of a collaboration program between the China National Space Administration (CNSA) and the Italian Space Agency (ASI), and developed by China Earthquake Administration (CEA) and Italian National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), together with several Chinese and Italian Universities and research Institutes. Two missions, CSES-01, currently in orbit, and CSES-02, in implementation stage, constitute the first phase of the program.

Italy participates to the CSES missions with the LIMADOU project - funded by ASI and INFN - through a collaboration that includes several INFN Divisions (Bologna, NaplesPerugia, Roma Tor Vergata), the INFN Center TIFPA of Trento, the INFN National Laboratories of Frascati, the Universities of Bologna, Roma Tor Vergata, Torino, Trento, Uninettuno and the Institutes INAF-IAPS (Italian National Institute of Astrophysics and Planetology) and INGV (Italian National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology).